ICOM National Committee in Georgia

All news

August 24, 2023

Call for applications – 2024 European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards Awards

Applications for the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2024 will be accepted until October 13, 2023.

Since 2002, these Awards have been recognizing and promoting exemplary approaches in conserving and enriching both tangible and intangible cultural heritage. They foster the exchange of knowledge across European borders, raise public awareness about the value of Europe’s cultural heritage, and inspire further outstanding initiatives by setting a remarkable precedent.

For a comprehensive understanding of the application process, please visit the website and get to know the 5 categories of entry listed below for further insights:

  • Conservation & Adaptive Reuse
  • Research
  • Education, Training & Skills
  • Citizens Engagement & Awareness-raising
  • Heritage Champions

A maximum of 30 outstanding heritage achievements will be awarded. Among them, up to 5 exceptional projects will be granted the Grand Prix, accompanied by a monetary prize of €10,000. Furthermore, one exceptional project will be bestowed with the Public Choice Award, also carrying a €10,000 monetary reward, determined through an online vote organized by Europa Nostra.


In 2023, recognition was bestowed upon three museums for their outstanding achievements:

  • Museum of Literature Ireland (MoLI), Dublin, Ireland, is dedicated to honoring the country’s rich literary legacy while igniting a passion for writing and reading among upcoming generations. Through its inclusive strategies, MoLI strives to break down elitist notions associated with literature.
  • Situated in Vilnius, Lithuania, the Museum of Urban Wooden Architecture has meticulously revived a 19th-century wooden structure using expert craftsmanship and authentic methodologies. Today, this building has been repurposed as a museum and community hub, setting a precedent for the preservation of similar structures not only in Vilnius but also in other locales.
  • Proto-Industrial Architecture of the Veneto in the Age of Palladio, Italy: This pioneering three-year study delves into Veneto’s proto-industrial heritage, marking an unprecedented achievement in both Italian and European spheres. The research sheds light on the history of innovation and knowledge exchange across Europe, with a special focus on the valuable contributions of hydraulic power.